Diving in to dye pot

Dyeing fibres has been such fun, armed with 5 boxes of acid dye, merino, silk, silk carrier rods and silk cocoons and regular wool fibres I started mixing colours. I used steam dyeing as it seemed like the easiest way to start on this journey and I only wanted to dye small batches of fibres. So really it was more like an experiment in my kitchen laboratory. 

Image

this photo is dyed throwsters waste, silk carrier rods and wool, my loose plan was to gather a colour range together for make a Spring Equinox Pod

Image

 

more silk carriers rods, which are great fun to play with, once wet they can be peeled apart and stretched to create interesting shapes

Image

The silk cocoons work in a similar way and can be unravelled

Image

 

these just shine like jewels, I love using these for embellishing

Image

 

merino fibres just soaked up the dye, I love how the colours variegate

2 responses »

  1. I’m even more jealous of those colours now I see the bigger photos! They all look great 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment